Select Page

Myanmar Excluded from Thailand’s Visa-Free List Effective June 1

News | 0 comments

According to a statement from the Thai government, while Cambodia and Laos have joined the list of countries eligible for a 60-day visa-free stay, Myanmar has not been included. Previously, Myanmar, along with Cambodia and Laos, received only 14-day visas.


Myanmar is not among the 93 countries on Thailand’s newly extended visa-free list, which will take effect on June 1, sources reported.


In an effort to boost tourism, the Thai government has extended the list of 60-day visa-exemption countries, effective June 1. Previously, nationals from certain countries could stay in Thailand for 60 days without a visa. Now, six more countries have been added to this list: China, Laos, Mongolia, Russia, Cambodia, and Macau.


As a result, Myanmar citizens will continue to be limited to a 14-day stay without a visa.


Additionally, a new type of Destination Thailand Visa has been introduced, allowing individuals involved in business, Thai culinary education, art, and traditional Muay Thai boxing to stay for 180 days under the new visa policy.


Currently, more Myanmar nationals are purchasing condos and conducting business in Thailand than in previous years. In the first quarter of this year, Myanmar surpassed Russia to become the second-highest country in terms of condo purchases in Thailand.


Source: The Nation


Yours sincerely,

The editorial team at Invest Bangkok Property


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate 翻译 »